A bricklayer by trade, he was also a constable, from 1675 to 1678, as well as a selectman (1671, 1677, 1684, and 1692), and sexton of his church parish (1673). He resided on his father's estate at South St. in Hingham.
Drowned at age 30.
After his motherís death he was brought up by his uncle, Deacon Doane of Eastham MA. When he reached maturity he returned to Braintree MA to claim his fatherís property.
Embarked from London, England for America aboard the ship "Elizabeth", captained by William Stagg April 6, 1635. With Clement, who was 40 years old at the time, was his wife Anna, also 40, and their five children. Clement came to Hingham about the time that Rev. Peter Hobart and his followers arrived, and, on the 18th of September, 1635, he received a grant of land on Town (South) St. This lot contained five acres and was bounded on the N.E. by George Russell, and S.W. by Thomas Johnson. It was the fifth in number from Bachelor (Main) St. and was in possession of his descendants for nearly 250 years. In 1883, the estate, including the ancient dwelling house fromerly known as the "Anchor Tavern", was sold to the owners of the adjoining land. A portion of the estate was repurchased later, and a new house was built there by a descendant.